Hard armor

A hard armor plate gives you extra protection against threats from powerful weapons like a rifle and armour piercing bullets.

We offer 3 different trauma plates to suit different needs:

  • PGD-LW + is our lightweight model, which protects at NIJ level 3.
  • PGD-Berserker is our economical model that protects at NIJ level 3 and NIJ level 4.
  • PGD U-line is our top model, which protects at NIJ level 3++ and NIJ level 4.



Hard armor
preload spinner

SAPI ( Small Arms Protective Insert) is a ceramic hard armor plate used by the United States Armed Forces. Since 2005 the US army has been replacing SAPI with ESAPI (Enhanced Small Arms Protective Insert). 

The plate is inserted in a plate carrier on the front, back and/or on the sides.

SAPI plates protect at NIJ level 3, which stops most handguns. ESAPI plates protect at NIJ level 4, which also protect some rifles.

SAPI and ESAPI plates in NIJ level 3 and 4

SAPI plates and ESAPI plates are also known as trauma plates, bulletproof plates and hard armor plates. They are used against more powerful weapons such as rifles and penetrating shots. They are available in two different protection levels; NIJ level 3 and NIJ level 4.


The plates are made in many different materials, and some of the most common materials are UHMWPE, Dyneema, ceramics and different kinds of steel plates. The materials each have their advantages and disadvantages, but all plates must comply with NIJ standard 0101.04 or 0101.06. The difference is in the number of shots the SAPI and ESAPI plates are tested against and the type of projectiles they stop.  


The plates come in both ICW and SA. ICW (In conjunction with) means that the plate only works with soft armor behind it. SA (Stand-alone), are SAPI plates that do not require soft armor behind them.


We care deeply about your safety, so all our plates are tested to NIJ standard 0101.04 and 0101.06 at TNO in the Netherlands and HP White Laboratory Inc. in the USA.

Sizes from 8x10 to 11x14 plate carriers

The standard size is a 10x12 plate carrier. 


ESAPI come in 8x10, 10x12, 11x14 plate carrier sizes. The measurement is in inches.

Protection level 3 and 4

NIJ level 3 (III) and NIJ level 4 (IV) are the highest levels of protection for plates. The difference is what type of projectiles they stop. A level 3 plate stop most handguns and a level 4 also stop some rifles. 

Our NIJ level 3 (III) plate is tested against NIJ standard 0101.06 against 6 shots from a 7.62x51 cartridge. 

Our NIJ level 4 (IV) is made to stand alone and is tested according to NIJ standard 0101.06 level 4 with a single shot from a 7.62x63 AP cartridge.


There is no such thing as a level 5 (V) plate, but some sites will try and trick you into believing that there is. 

NIJ level III plates vs NIJ level IV plates


Level 3 (III) plates should be tested during specific conditions, tested with a 7.62 mm FMJ, steel jacketed bullet. (US M80), with a mass of 9.6g (147 gr) and at a speed of 847 m/s +- 9.1 m/s (2780 ft/s +- 30 ft/s). It should clearly say on the bulletproof plate whether it is SA or ICW, which concerns both NIJ III and IV. 


Level 4 plates should be tested during conditioned circumstances and tested with a .30 caliber armor-piercing bullet (AP). (US M2 AP), with a mass of 10.8 g (166 gr) and a speed of 878 m/s +- 9.1 m/s (2880 ft/s +- 30 ft/s)